Paul B & Braedin B (GliderPilot & Glydrfreak) Flights & Build Modifications

I received my kit Monday evening and had my first successful flight Saturday morning. By the time we rigged up a borrowed harness and did a hang test it was 11:30 so there was a pretty strong breeze. I was only planning to fly a few feet but it felt good so I flew across the whole field. I have been flying paragliders for 26 years but my only powered flight prior to today was 20 years ago.

10 Likes

Wow! You’ve got an amazing field to fly from :slight_smile: I’m jealous!

1 Like

My son Braedin, my flying buddy, helped come up with this method for attaching the batteries which works great!

!

Adhesive Velcro on the batteries front and back (fuzzy side). The straps are double sided Velcro and the way they weave through the frame create a place for the Velcro on the batteries to adhere. Plus the straps adhere to themselves and the battery on the other side. The white packaging foam holds the batteries away from any screw heads.

3 Likes

I am still missing how OpenPPG is using Lipo batteries. They are not even allowed to be internationally shipped after the mini-“segway” fiascoes, so how can these be used in aviation? What am I missing? Thanks…

1 Like

Remember to file/sand the edges of the carbon fibre… that stuff is sharp and will cut your straps if you’re not careful!

2 Likes

That carbon sands really easy and nicely. Thanks for the tip! Now I kinda wish I sanded the edges of all of the carbon before it was assembled.

1 Like

My son and I took turns making several short flights last night. We were having so much fun! Thanks @Pdwhite and @zjwhitehead and everyone else who helped with this project!

We were only flying a few minutes at a time because we didn’t want to heat up the battery wires too much. We were only using two Bonkas with 10 AWG wires. Next time we fly we will be using all 4 batteries.

9 Likes