Paramotor Concept/Prototype

Hello guys! This is my first post. I’m a mechanical designer and I’m working on the concept of an electric paramotor that I plan to build. I’m on early stages so all comments/suggestions are very welcome.
The basic specs are:
4 motors intended are M10 180kv,
4 propellers Tiger 26x8.5 Carbon Fiber Three-Blade
4 Turnigy High Capacity 20000mAh 6S 12C Multi-Rotor Lipo Pack w/XT90

I’m still researching for everything else and any tip is much appreciated.

Thanks!

PS. The covers around the propellers are not intended to produce more thrust, like seen in ducted fans, they are just protections.

2 Likes

I really like this. But why four propellers? Why not increase the chord or pitch or number of blades. I’m assuming you would also need either four motors and four ESCs or two motors with spindles at the front and back. Both these options are going to be more expensive than two off the shelf motors.

Regards, Paul

1 Like

Hi Paul, thanks for your reply.
Check this out: Electroflight | Fully Charged - YouTube
There are many videos on YouTube that shows the advantages of counter rotating propellers.
I believe the videos can explain better than I could.
Another characteristic about this concept is that it’s more compact behind your back, making it a bit more comfortable to take off and land, moreover, it’s compact to transport too, only two pins (one each side) are used to fold the motors/propellers. You can do it in seconds and put the paramotor in the car’s trunk.

1 Like

It’s impressive looking, however this was discussed last year. That design was considered not viable due to loss of thrust and complexity/cost, which does not improve performance over Paul’s design. Co-axial motors with counter rotating props

1 Like