Not sure if an electric would be good for a newbie?

Being a complete newbie, and knowing nothing about batteries and all this electrical stuff,
I am thinking that perhaps I should stick with a gas engine until I gain some experience
and knowledge. I was first attracted to this site by the possibility of such a light system.
But the more reading I do, the more I can see that I have no clue how to put together and
then maintain an electric system. Let alone do that on top of learning how to fly at the same time.

I still love the ideas and design. I will be lurking about seeing what new developments
arise.

I hope that’s OK with everyone.

1 Like

Actually, I’m inclined to say that it’s a great newbie engine, with none of the nuances of the typical gas powered engine (e.g. torque steer, engine runup, constant spinning blade of death while running [where applicable]). Plus this thing a SUPER light, which makes takeoffs/landings a bit more forgiving.

2 Likes

The flying part yes, I agree. It’s a great concept.
What I’m worried about is all the electrical stuff.

I’m sure I could learn, given time, but right now I am clueless.

I’m horrible when it comes to electrical theory and understanding, but after doing some research and some math learning; I feel a whole lot better. I still don’t trust the LiPo batteries much, but the more flights that get talked about here, and the more time goes by and nobody reports an issue, the more faith I have in it.

1 Like

Dear lord no!!!
I wanted to go with electric when I started last last yr then rushed into it and got an ICE… I regret that decision.
The weight of the ICE for the short flights you need to train with is too much. You asked any experienced pilot that has gone from ICE to electric and the weight savings for training to take off would have been preferred!
But I wont try long to convince you… get a big back pack and put 65 pounds in and kite a bit,then take 20 pounds out and kite some more.
Good luck
Cheers, Patrick