How to connect 6 Bonkas

Hello,

How can I connect 6 Bonkas, without having to open the unit and soldering any new leads?

Can I connect them via 3 in series or this will create too much voltage?

Thanks

3 in series is too much voltage, you can make another parallel addapter so you don’t have to open up and solder anything.

1 Like

Do you know anywhere they sell them?

Won’t this drain the battery that is not in parallel faster than the others?

1-Connect one set of three batteries in parallel.
2-Connect second set of three batteries in parallel.
3-Connect set one to set two in series
4-Connect to PPG and go fly.

Disclaimer-I’m no battery expert

3p2s

It would be better to have three 2S pack combinations, and then put them in parallel. That way the single wire is not carrying all the current.

To be more clear, put 2 of the batteries in series. Repeat this three times. Now put those three sets in parallel so they tie in at your switch or buss bar or whatever.

OP, I suggest you seek out help locally if you have confusion about how to do this, or the quality of your joints etc. Accidentially shorting a battery can have disasterous consequences.

2S3P

1 Like

Exactly. Good diagram. You probably don’t need the intermediate set of connectors though.

Perhaps this will help some of you. We need 12 cells to get the voltage correct but the Bonkas we use only have 6 cells. If you connect the red of one to the black of the other it essentially becomes a 12 cell pack:

This is your series connection. Notice it is now like a single battery and has one red and one black wire coming out of your now 12 cell pack.

3 Likes

Thanks. So on the PPG frame I will use only one pair of the connectors?, instead of using 2 pairs, is this correct? Right now with 4 bonkas, I am connecting to both pairs (red/black) on the openppg frame.

Thanks