Carbon fiber parts

I’m an industrial designer in Milwaukee. I’m a bit new to the PPG world but I have a solid connection for carbon fiber parts, not just flat sheets but custom layups at reasonable rates. I’d be willing to work with people to come up with frame and trike designs that could be produced economically to be strong light and inexpensive.

PPG is a sport I’m looking to get into and I’d be willing to work with the community to come up with some cool designs.

Left me know…

guellem

5 Likes

I’d be interested in a trike mate! :+1:

i would be interested in a frame kit count me in send info on price please.

I’m interested in designing a more aerodynamic version. A single airfoil shaped arm should have a lot better aerodynamics than the 2 flat plates the we use now. The two flat plates create interference drag. The arms could be lighter and stronger if they were a single airfoil shape. Also, the aluminum cage could be an airfoil shape.

Originally I wanted something that folds up during flight so that we could soar better. But then I realized that improving the aerodynamics would not only be more simple but would enhance the performance both with and without power.

I think ground handling would be easier if the cage hoop wasn’t so wide and so tall. So I came up with the idea of a non-circular hoop. This would also cut down on the netted area and reduce drag from the net. If this was made of carbon it could be an airfoil shape.

4 Likes

If you have CAD of what you are looking for, please sent it to me and I’ll take a look. I think splitting the top image into 8 pieces (like a pizza) gets the unique section. This could be patterned to get the whole frame and allow for a simpler tool for the carbon layup. That is assuming the section profile is the same front to back…

guellem

A trike frame would have to be designed an proofed. if you have some dimensions or plans as a reference, I’ll take a look.

guellem