X4 Owners: How long did assembly take you?

Pending updates on part availability, I am considering purchase of the X4. I am taking a trip in about two months to which I would like to take this unit. I am wondering how much time I should allot for assembly in deciding whether the parts will ship in time. I.e. if the parts arrived the same day I planned to leave then it would be a no go. But what about a week before? Is ~12 hours enough time to assemble?

I know this will vary from person-to-person. I have some experience assembling electronics through repairing older devices and design/development classes and my roommate has ample experience with electronics and soldering. Wondering what the pain points are in building and how many work hours it takes from beginning to end.

Also, wondering if there are any necessary tools or materials not mentioned in “OpenPPG Open Guide”. The only thing I’ve noted is that people say to invest in a high quality soldering iron and wire cutters, so I would probably replace my ~$20 unit I’ve had for almost ten years :).

1 Like

I will suggest that planning to have an X4 shipped, built, and flown a few times, is not possible in only two months; unless your day job is building X4s. The batteries will take that long to ship. If you had everything ready at hand to start right away, then two months is probably plenty of evenings and weekends to put it together. Twelve hours isn’t enough.

Beyond the time frame its just a bad idea to have a looming deadline for a project like this. It’ll make you rush something or cut a corner somewhere to see it ready in time. “Gottaflyitis” kills aviators.