Why other projects have failed?

Hi friends! I don’t know how pose this question, I want to know why others electric paramotor construction projects in the past failed, what are the main problems currently facing electric paramotors, and why they have such low acceptance by the pilot community. Thanks!!!

I would say too high cost and too short a flight time.

Both of which I’m happy to say Openppg is working on solving nicely. Love my X4!

3 Likes

I am NOT an expert; this is from my own research over the last year or three. I agree with assiegordon, but might be more specific and say “batteries”. Deep enough past and the batteries were too large and heavy. That is still an issue, but it has gone from “this won’t work” to “this is a tradeoff we can accept.”
Obviously, batteries aren’t the only source of cost/limited flight time, and cost/flight time aren’t the only obstacles, but the other problems … are mostly not specific to electric flight.

2 Likes

The same reason that people don’t want electric cars. Tesla has a range of 400 miles. People keep saying they won’t get one until that goes up even though most people drive less than 100 miles a day.

One of the numbers I noticed on myself and others I fly with, normal flying time is around sunset with average flight time of 30 to 45 minutes. So a hour battery life covers 90% of flights made.

2 Likes

I agree with the previous comments. The some of biggest challenges are cost and flight time. I would also say that an equally great challenge is people’s view of electric aircraft.