Too heavy for me?

I am a freeflight pilot, and I am now considering a transistion into powered flight. I will attend classes this summer, but in the meantime I am looking at equipment.
I’m a fairly light person at 66kg and 174cm height (sorry, I don’t know the units in US). I’m average fit, I would say, but no bodybuilder. I am concerned that the 1 hour battery setup would be too heavy for me to operate safely.
There is of course the possibility to order the 1/2 hour battery, but I must admit this is not very attractive to me.
Please bear in mind I have no PPG experience. Anyone at roughly my size that can comment on this?

I am in the weight / height range an only fly the 1/2 hour - I have two of them - land/quick battery swap/takeoff again😁. The 1 hour is not recommended for lightweight pilots unless your spine is made of Titanium Electric Winter Sunset - YouTube
You will not fly XC but will have fun regardless When the beach his empty and the SP140 moves in - YouTube
Phil

3 Likes

Thanks for your input! Much appreciated. Guess I need to consider the smaller battery then.

The SP is just under 60lbs with the 1/2h battery and over 80lbs with the 1h.

It’s not that bad with the hour battery. I would never consider buying the 30 min battery. With the hour battery I’m only getting 35 min of flight time.

May I ask how tall and heavy you are?

I’m 5’10” … about 195lbs
The way the weight is distributed so high on your back it’s easier to launch than a moster in my opinion where the gas is heavy and so low.

What wing do you fly? I’m the same weight and get between 40 and 45 minutes with a classic paragliding wing. Large Skywalk Tequila 5.

Ozone Kona 2 26m …. I can get 40 minutes max