Switching battery mid flight

I am new to paramotoring and I like everything about this paramotor other than the flight time so I was wondering if I would be able to switch out the battery mid flight or connect say 4 batteries at once. The increased weight of carrying more batteries shouldn’t be an issue, I just hope I could get up to maybe 2 hours of flight time.

With the battery chemistry we need to make this work at all there is no practical reason not to have all of them connected when you take off. What would you save? Some wire length perhaps. I do fly with 4 batteries and some people fly with up to 8. The number of batteries is not the issue it’s the mass-power density. The best batteries for the X4 right now are the Bonka Lithium Polymer batteries OpenPPG has sourced for the X4. Lots of people have been scouring the world for a better solution. It doesn’t exist yet.

At current mass-energy density of the best batteries for the job we fly for max 20minutes cruise with 20lbs of batteries and up to 40minutes if you want to carry 40lbs. The increased weight is absolutely an issue. Partly because you have to run with it and partly b/c your wing has to carry it. Two hours of flight time is 120 minutes so you need to carry 120lbs of batteries.

Grejen,
That is an interesting observation! 1 lb of battery per minute of flight!!!
Fairly accurate from my experience flying an X-4
John

Well you can always go to a single prop unit. The SP130 gets nearly 2 minutes of flight per lb of batteries due to the power system being more efficient. Based on that info I want to build a trike with a 90lb battery pack. I figure I could get over 2 hours with it.

A trike would allow you to carry more battery but you then also have to carry the trike frame. Still you’d be ahead a bit on the deal. Perhaps Paul and Zach are working on a trike next.