Retrofit Electric System on Air Conception Frame

Hi, I’m an experienced PPG pilot and I’ve been curious about electric paramotors in part because my flights are often short, my flying site is noise sensitive, and I have experience with electric RC planes. I haven’t had much need to get serious about researching the options until today, when my Nitro 200 engine destroyed itself. The frame and harness are still in good shape so I’m leaning towards a powerplant swap. Is it worth considering an electric propulsion system on that existing frame? Is anyone doing that sort of thing?

Hey and welcome!
Sorry to hear about the nitro 200. That was my last ICE PPG before I switched to electric.

The short answer is it doesn’t make much sense to use your existing frame.

Here’s why -
The frame on the OpenPPG is one of the least expensive components. You won’t end up saving much percentage wise because most of the cost is in the motor and battery.

The frame for the nitro 200 is designed for a gasoline engine. The mounting points are all different, and it may be tricky to get the right balance especially when considering how to secure the battery.

You may be better off seeing how much it is to repair the nitro 200 and then sell it once it’s fixed and put that towards an electric PPG. That’s just my 2 cents but hopefully it helps.

Thank you, that is helpful.

1 Like