Possibility of a smaller prop?

What would be the consequence of mounting a 125cm prop on the stock setup? Of course it would reduce thrust, but if you are a lightweight person it seems thrust would still be enough.
Would a two- or three blade propeller be best? I assume it would make more noise, is that correct?
Just thinking this would make the rig extremely portable, given an appropriately sized cage.
Would it even fly?

Basically you want to go bigger and lower rpm if you want it to be more silent.
3 blades are louder than two.

if the motor has the same speed and you reduce from 140 cm to 125 cm, the eppg becomes quieter overall. Of course, as you say, it loses efficiency. if you want to do 125 cm, definitely use a 3 blade because it is quieter because it has less pitch. I’ve been flying a 122 cm three-blade since about 2012 with a body weight of 85 kg. the performance is enough to have a lot of fun. of course, my current models have large propellers (150 cm) to be efficient and quiet at maximum speeds below 2000 rpm.

a lot is explained very well here:

here you can calculate the speeds of the prop tips. as well as the efficiency:

122 cm 3 blade : Dudek Universal 1.1 e-ppg electric paramotor DIY EPPG motorschirm carbon paramotor - YouTube

1 Like

I have flown a 125cm prop after I damaged mine.
Watch to to make sure it spins the correct direction.

I had a CW prop from a gear reduction paramotor I used to own and decided to use that spare prop after I tipped my 140cm. I revered the motor direction from the software of the ESC.

As soon as I launched I went into the gnarliest left torque induced turn I have ever experienced. I was able to weight shift right, trim out the left side, and pull medium right brake pressure to fly straight but it was far from enjoyable or safe. I landed after that flight and decided I’ll just wait until either my prop is repaired or my new one arrives.

1 Like