No Charge- BMS and Charging Troubleshooting

Hi,

Newbie here. Need some help with charging and BMS.

I can use my system but not charge the battery.

Only 1 cycle on the battery. Think my BMS is bad? Charger seems to be working and has voltage. Second flight had an hard cut and now I can’t charge. Could that kill the BMS? Appreciate any help.

Matt

I’m new to the SP140 and far from an expert, so take my advice for what it is:

1. The battery voltages are averaging about 3.65v with 24 cells. This should equal a total voltage of 87.6 V, which is a lower state of charge. It seems even lower than the 45% displayed in the app, but I’m just guessing.
  2. Your charger is showing 100.6V at zero amps. This would be displayed if your charger isn’t hooked up to the battery properly.
    Check the following;
  3. Make sure to connect your charger to the battery first. Don’t connect it to the controller, connect it to the battery. I have a feeling you’ve connected the charger to the controller side.
  4. Plug the charger to wall outlet.
  5. Report back findings.

Thank you so much for the help. I have checked. I am plugged into the battery not the ems but good thought. I have charged it once before after it arrived and it worked fine. Charged to 100%. I then ran it and it stopped in flight around 90% I realized the charger was not working and ran it down to 87 because I heard that’s best place to keep it why I figure this out. Updated the Controller and EMC to latest version.

Weird thing is:
Battery works to power motor - this means battery is good and connection is good.
Charger works to power other things. This means charger is good. Connection is good.

So… why don’t they like each other? I am sure I am missing something easy…

Ok, that was great to check that it’s plugged in corrected. The voltage and amperage displayed on the charger indicate an open circuit. You can verify this by plugging in the charger when it’s not connected to anything at all.