Newbie - harness for batch 5 and costs

im a newbie who just finished paraglider training in Draper this summer . my question is if i buy a batch 5 kit can i use my normal paraglider harness or do i need to buy a paramotor specific harness ? also if i buy the kit for 3200$ what other expenses besides battery and charger do i incur .

1 Like

Do you live in Utah? I’m in North Ogden.

Paramotor harnesses are completely different so you will need a harness. Other costs are batteries, chargers, wing, and reserve parachute.

1 Like

no michigan . thanks for the info . the other question is how well do these climb in lift with the motor off . i have heard they have too much drag for that .

1 Like

I’d say the difference is minimal. The added weight probably makes a bigger difference than the drag. I soar with my motor just fine.

1 Like

No difference really. It will maybe vary depending on the total hooking weight, the wing size and type. Lift is lift and I soar in ridge lift just fine without the motor.

1 Like

thanks for the info . i was talking to one of the power paraglider gurus in draper when i was there and said that the motorized ones dont soar very well and the engine has to stay on do to the drag . So it sounds like maybe the small props make a difference . im really more interested in soaring flights but not sure how practical that really is especially in michigan . if its thermally its usually to windy and turbulent .

1 Like

cool video . looks like its more satisfying than just driving around under power .

1 Like

Was he thinking about electric, or the more typical existing Internal Combustion Engine? Some engines can be tricky to (re-)start, so that shutting them off while in the air is a bad risk. That should be less of a problem for electric.

1 Like