It's HERE! Dave's Build Log

Hey guys! I’m thrilled to announce I got my kit!

First off, HUGE kudos to @pdwhite. I build hardware products for a living and I could not be more impressed with this kit so far. The quality of the parts is incredible, and even the packaging was great. For a couple guys in a basement/garage, I’m astounded! The community owes you bigtime!

This is going to be a fun build! I’ll post the progress and Feedback anything I learn. WOW. Here we go!

17 Likes

Yay!!!

so great to see first hand photos of someone from the community. Keep 'em coming!

3 Likes

Post a build video! :smile:

1 Like

@pdwhite is already working on one - and I’m feeding my questions into him so he can get those worked into his video.

2 Likes

Looks like an awesome kit! Can’t wait to build it. Keep the photos/videos coming of your process to build it.

1 Like

So I’m doing my best to figure out where all the bits go. It’s a pretty intuitive design. Most things only fit in one place.

Spent a couple hours on it today. Built up 1 arm, the legs and the body.

It’s starting to look like something I might fly :slight_smile:

Tomorrow will be about finishing the arms and starting the wiring!

5 Likes

Oh! Wow wow wee waa! I am excite!

Nice one Dave! It looks a really straight forward build, I’m not sure how close you are to the wiring stage, but are you soldering wires together or crimping? Thanks for showing what you’ve done so far.

wiring starts today :). It will likely be a combination of solders and crimps. Motors and ESCs have great bullet connectors with them, which will be soldered on. The Big battery connector XT150 and XT90 are solder I hope to crimp for the power switch and over time add a bus bar for distribution and bolt/crimp for that. Will include closeups as I do those.

1 Like

Very nice to see the images from Dave’s build log. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Would be very interested in the all up weight when it’s finished. Looks good!