Hearing Protection?

Since ePPGs are supposed to be quieter, I’d like to know if there are people who fly without hearing protection. Have you done it, and if so, then how does it feel? Is it borderline lousy, so that you’d prefer hearing protection? Or is it quite tolerable and decent?

It depends on the motor. I’ve been flying a single motor electric PPG for over 7 years and never worn ear protection. Quitle tolerable on cruise at 1400 rpm and when you power off… ahhh… just the wind.

I’m flying the X4 without hearing protection. What I do is turn my hearing aids off. :wink: It is still pretty loud.

Seriously I’ve had hearing aids for about a decade now. Long before I started flying. I remember when I was younger the sound of a circular saw used to hurt. Now I barely notice it but again, I turn off my hearing aids.

Younger people have more sensitive hearing. Protect it.

I don’t bother on shorter flights but if I’m flying more than 20 mins or so the noise from the prop can get annoying.
I just throw a few of these ear plugs in the harness pocket for the longer flights and it makes it more enjoyable

1 Like

WHAAAAAAAAT???. lol Sorry had to go there.

OSHA does a good job recommending safe noise levels vs time - this phenomenon has been very well studied! It comes down to how loud the noise is (e.g., measured in dB), and for how long you’re exposed to that. Note that this exposure accumulates over time! Meaning, a certain high noise may be tolerable before long term damage for, as an example, 10 hours total, whereas lower levels of noise may cause the same damage over some 100 hours total. Just an example. But the point is, over time, your hearing gets damaged every time, just a little bit. Even if you find the noise level “tolerable”.
(Same thing with motorcycles’ loud pipes. People regret that after a few months or years of riding with “tolerable noise” causes hearing issues.)