Beginner Battery Recommendations

Hi Guys, I’m new to EV for the most part. What do I need to make batteries happy in my home. Can someone recommend a charger? Will one charger charge multiple batteries?

Anything I might not be thinking about?

Thanks!

Can I add to this thread and ask, as someone who doesn’t have much experience with electrical systems: Given that it looks like there are folks all over the world who are into this project, and shipping batteries is a bit tricky, what are the important specs we need to look for when buying the battery packs? Is there anything we should avoid?

Right now Paul is using 4 of these batteries.

I’ve used these chargers for years and they work great for charging two batteries at a time.

I charge my batteries in a BatSafe safe charging box to preclude fire and smoke damage in the event of an improperly charged battery.

1 Like

I love the enthusiasm for this project and the passion it sparks, but feel compelled to write this after seeing some pretty basic battery questions.

If you are not completely, 100% across Lipo Battery technology. (Building a pack, charging it safely and The Golden Lipo Rules) This project may not be for you. Yet…

Strapping this much Lipo to yourself and taking flight is serious FUCKING business!! (for emphasis).
Equally as serious as flight training

Search ‘Lipo Basics’ and settle in for a couple of hours
Spend $30 and buy some small, cheap batteries and do a mock up of your flight pack. Get your solder on. Make your mistakes with this one before destroying a huge pack
Understand capacity, C rating, cell voltages and your well on your way.
Get some help from a hobby shop if needed.

And remember - Carbon is conductive and has sharp edges.

3 Likes

https://rogershobbycenter.com/lipoguide/

Would you consider this a good overview?

1 Like