Blimp Drive dual motor, frameless paramotor

Hello all,

I am an aspiring paramotor pilot, and after seeing the price of $7000+ for a typical gas unit, Justine Haupt’s blimp drive caught my eye - BlimpDrive Electric Paramotor I have already started building a blimp drive setup, so this first post is something of a catching up one. I am documenting this on a newly minted youtube channel: (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtMiqZYw7ZN9X2fNQxNuz2A)!

This design stands out to me as ideal for electric paramotors, sticking the props out in clean air and taking advantage of the smaller motor footprint. It’s also significantly lighter, the pole with motors and ESC’s will weigh in around 10-12 lbs, freeing up a lot of weight for batteries. Flight times will be nothing to write home about of course, but it’s interesting to see how light and affordable this setup will be.

I am building mine with an expectation of powered flight, not just a launch/boost for gliding. To that end, I needed more battery capacity. I also had costs on my mind, so I aimed to save money wherever possible. To achieve more air time and less financial commitment, I decided to build my own battery. Using Molicel P42A in a 12s6p fashion, I built a 25 Ah, 50 volt, 1.1KWh Lithium ion battery, weighing in at 10.5 Kg. Slightly heavier that Justine’s original, but with more capacity and the lower cell discharge voltages of Li-Ion, I expect 20 minutes. I plan on flying with more than one pack in the future for longer flight times, but this should get me in the air. Battery cost was about $400 USD. I had to buy a spot welder for it, but that’s something I will use for a long time. I have just now charged this 12s for the first time, internal resistance is below 2 ohms per cell, and it has taken every drop of the 25 Ah expected. I am excited to try it out.